Suburbanmomcooks’s Weblog

August 1, 2008

Night out with the Girls

Filed under: Demarle,garden,organization,Recipes — by CarrieK @ 5:33 pm
Tags: ,

The kids are in bed, I finished my dinner and I indulged in a decadent piece of 73% dark chocolate with a nice glass of Merlot. Not a bad finish to the day. Time to blog…

Last night I went out with the Girls. I caught up with some “old” girls and met some new ones. What a lovely night! We ate (sushi, wonderful sushi), we drank (mojitos, margueritas, ahhhh margueritas!) and we talked. And talked. I could’ve talked all night. And still cried out for more….We talked about husbands, raw milk and yogurt, the Palestinian-Israeli conflict, food allergies, husbands, medically altered women, foreign countries, kids…like I said, we had drinks.

The occasion (and it takes a big one to drag me away from dinner and bedtime with my monkeys) was that 2 of my friends are leaving. One to the UAE, and one to South Dakota and the world beyond. You will be missed dear friends. *sigh* I will live vicariously through you. Have lots of fun, have lots of adventures. Be safe.

Because I was trying to get out of the house in something nicer than jeans and a baseball cap and I needed to find a shirt without sticky fingerprints or food stains on it, I did a switcheroo on The Menu and made quesadillas and burritos for dinner. Quick, easy, nutritious.

Tonight I stayed home and made a WONDERFUL dinner. Pot of long grain brown rice, steamed green beans and a beautiful piece of salmon. Yum! I poached the salmon in my Flower Mold with the Octagonal Silpat on top. Lots of leftovers to keep us in food for a day or two.

Today I reorganized my pantry, a cupboard and my big shelf unit in the garage. I moved all my storage containers (bags, thermoses, jars) to the garage. I moved all the food into the house. I created one whole cupboard for my homemade jams and jellies. It is satisfying to reorganize. I had been procrastinating for weeks. I finally got some inspiration from Lunchinabox.net and Theperfectpantry.com. I’ll post some before and after shots of my pantry soon. It looks a little bare. I’m not panicky like last week, but I do need to address the whole “have food on hand for an emergency” thing. It’s Thursday, we have plenty of food in the house to get us through the week AND I have about $15 left in our weekly budget. Not bad huh? I was thinking today I should save it for our camping trip. I would like to indulge in s’mores and beer. Sounds like a camping trip to me!

Tonight I will be updating the Canning and Preserving Page and the Garden Page. Busy, Busy, Busy!

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

