Suburbanmomcooks’s Weblog

July 20, 2008

Day 7 – PIZZA!

Filed under: Demarle,Recipes,sustainability — by CarrieK @ 3:57 am
Tags: ,

This morning I got the kids up, packed the lunch I described yesterday (in post Day 6) and headed off to pick blueberries. So wonderful being out in the field in the cool morning. There were very few people there and the berries were not all ripe (more picking next week I think) but I still managed to bring home 6 1/2 pounds of berries. The kids did great, L picked a lot, C ate a lot (yay! he ate! something good!) – not a diaper I was looking forward to – and we were home in time to go to swimming lessons.

Tonight I attended a westside get together of a Gooogle Group I belong to. We have all taken classes with Monique Dupre about sustainable living. Check out her website sustainablebudget.com. We got together to share ideas and information in person. I got some great ideas about canning and preserving (I have a lot of blueberries to put up this weekend!) It’s nice talking with other people who make their own yogurt and kefir and who preserve and garden. It was a beautiful night to be out.

Since I was going out, I made a pizza. L’s favorite! I used premade dough from Trader Joe’s, part of a jar of marinara and grated cheese (raw, organic jack) Pretty simple dinner. I shaped the dough on the Silpat, spread out the marinara and sprinkled on the cheese. I baked it in a preheated 350 degree oven for about 20-25 minutes. I’m so proud of my DH, he remembered to take the pizza off the Silpat before cutting it!

I’m going to skip Day 8 because we were invited to go to dinner at a friend’s house. I think I’ll take some blueberries….:)

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

