Suburbanmomcooks’s Weblog

July 19, 2008

Day 4: Hot Dogs and Hamburgers

Filed under: Recipes — by CarrieK @ 5:42 am
Tags: ,

I’ve skipped to Day 4. Days 1-3 went well, not bored yet! No grocery shopping this week, although we are going berry picking Thursday and possible Friday. I have cash for that 🙂 The “real” grocery shopping starts on Sunday, 7/20, what I call Week 2.

All L wants to eat is hot dogs right now. C won’t eat much of anything. So it’s hamburgers for the grown-ups! I don’t really want a hamburger, but that’s what the plan is for today so I’m sticking to it, sort of. I am going to use ground turkey to make a meatloaf, sort of. But I don’t have time to cook a meatloaf so I’m going to cook it as patties.

Turkey Meatloaf Patties

1 package ground turkey from Trader Joes

2 eggs

2 tblsp mustard

4 leaves of Chard, de-veined and finely chopped

1/2 cup Sourdough Croutons

1 tblsp Soy Sauce

Mix all ingredients together, form into patties and cook in a skillet roughly 5 minutes on a side.

Serve on toasted sourdough bread. It’s especially good with homemade Savory Plum jam (can’t find this recipe right now but I’ll keep looking). We had it with guacamole and organic tortilla chips.

L ate a bunless hot dog with organic ketchup, some guacamole from Trader Joes and some organic tortilla chips.

C ate…organic tortilla chips? I can’t remember what the little guy ate, but I guarantee you it wasn’t much. 😦

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

