Suburbanmomcooks’s Weblog

August 7, 2008

Budget Interuppted

Filed under: Uncategorized — by CarrieK @ 4:27 am

*Site construction note: I haven’t yet mastered the art of links, so mostly my links won’t take you anywhere -yet. Be patient and check back, Thanks!*

So, we are going camping tomorrow and I was planning the meals with 2 other Moms who just backed out of the trip! Alrighty then….now I get to do it all myself, and quickly.

How easy old, bad habits return. In my rush, I blew over $100 at Fred Meyer and then another $80 at Trader Joes. It’s all food and stuff we need, I just didn’t really, plan for it, very well….hm.

As penance, I am making myself go over the receipts and categorize each item so I know how much I spent on food. But not tonight, remember, numbers make my head hurt. And it’s late. And I’m tired. Excuses, excuses, excuses.

I was actually doing really well on our weekly budget. Last night we ate at a friend’s house and tonight I made a Broken Lasagna out of leftovers (mushrooms, spaghetti sauce, marinara, cheese, no boil noodles). We are rolling in vegetables and I have a freezer full of fish. The only thing we really ran out of was butter. I did a lot of baking.

Hopefully tomorrow night will find us at the beach! I’m still working on the menu; but I have flour soaking for pancake mix, I made a batch of mini blueberry muffins and I’m dehydrating blueberries and blackberries for trail mix. I still need to make bread for Friday night, and most probably freeze the spinach, juice the limes and cook up the green beans – otherwise I’m coming home to spoiled food. I can’t stand spoiled or wasted food, especially since I started The Budget. I have hot dogs, a couple of steaks and fish for dinners. Lunches will be blueberries, cheese, PBand J, crackers and any leftover dinner.

I should go to bed, I’m too tired to do anymore tonight. I need to get up and get going in the morning. LOTS of packing to do!

1 Comment »

  1. Glory be! Tonight I found myself peeling and frezing beautiful Alberta peaches that I purchased from a friend at work. They will be great with ice cram, hopefully homemade.

    Ah camping – trail mix in the olden days was made up of cherrios, raisins, and peanuts. This travelled well on camping trips, rolled in tin foil, and everyone thought it was delicious.

    And yes, the toothpaste was baking soda and no one, including me thought, it was good, but it got the job done.

    Comment by Linda Hightower — August 7, 2008 @ 5:40 am |Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

The Toni Theme Blog at WordPress.com.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

